The Ben Franklin Plan: “As if, Already” Acting and Thinking

25Oct09
Portrait of Benjamin Franklin
Image via Wikipedia

In honor of Ben Franklin who focused on one virtue a month each year (plus humility, which he worked on all year round on the advice of a detractor), I’m working on one life principle each week from Sunday to Saturday. Will you join me?

This week’s life principle fits in perfectly with a re-design of your life.  Let’s say you have just completed your LIFE LAYOUT.  It will take a while to reach all of your goals.  We are talking about the rest of your life here.  But why should that keep you from living like you are there now?

An example: Let’s say that your LIFE LAYOUT includes a 35 pound weight loss over the next six months.  No doubt you are doing a lot of “When I have lost my 35 pounds I will…” thinking.  And it’s perfectly reasonable that you are not yet trying on size 8 slacks at a size 14, no matter how much “as if, already” thinking you do.

But why would you wait to wear fun jewelry or cool new shoes?

Why would you delay starting now to wear your best colors even if it is just a new scarf?

Why not get that makeup consultation now?

Why wouldn’t you guys start having your shoes shined regularly?

Why would you wait to take those tennis lessons?

Or wait to audition for the community playhouse, when you’ve wanted to get back on stage since your college days?

Is it possible that by acting “as if, already” you may actually expedite your success?  It’s certainly a clever attitude with which to approach an ambitious plan.  (Your plan is ambitious, isn’t it?)

Anyway,  take a look at your LIFE LAYOUT right now.  Is there any aspect of it that you could move on right now? Any quick fixes?

Note:  I knew I was going to be writing on “as if, already” thinking this weekend.  As I was creating a budget for my own plans to retire in the next few years, I wisely remembered to include moving costs.  Wow, I’d have to do some serious weeding out or moving would cost me a fortune!  But then I thought, why wait?  Why not weed out the things that don’t fit my new life right now?  So here I am tonite with bags and boxes lined up down the hall to load into the car to take to Goodwill.  I feel so much lighter, ready for anything, more agile.  Which I need to be because, like you, I now have big plans!

Week 6:  Act and think as if you are already there.

Want to receive an email alert for new postings?  Click to the right and you shall receive…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

