#3: It’s Your Year

28Jul09

That’s right.  There are lots of years to go around and you’re not selfish.  Somebody can claim the next year for themselves.  But this one is yours.  All 365 (or whatever, never remember whether to leap or not) days of it.

How do I know?  Because I just heard you claim it for yourself.  You could have said it a little louder, but I distinctly heard it.

Ok, that’s settled.  The next twelve months have your name on them.  So what are you going to do with them?  A whole lot if I have anything to say about it.  (It may be your year, but it’s my blog.)

Having a year is a privilege.   That goes without saying.  But it’s also a responsibility.   You have to work it.  Leverage it.  Milk the year.  Be one with the year.  Use the year to find out everything you can, from everyone you can, about you.  Justify every nosy little question and imposition.  You’re committed to the whole “re-invent you” thing, right?

Obviously, to do this you need a list.

1.  Tell everyone you meet that it is your year.  Not only will it ward off pesky claims others may feel they have over your year, but it will also confirm that you intend to be totally self-indulgent, ego-centric, and downright narcissistic about the whole thing.

2.  Explain that you are re-inventing yourself and will be gathering information on an important subject: yourself.  Like to be mysterious?  Then smile enigmatically and whisper huskily that there are some things you need to know and, of course, you can’t explain why.  Hypochondriac?  Don’t worry, no one will ask why.  Male? Get over yourself.  Or rather, get into yourself.  Think of it as your first challenge in being communicative.

3.  Then, and here is where the rubber meets the road:

  • Email your childhood friends; ask them to tell you what they remember about you.  Cross your fingers and toes it’s all good.
  • Invite friends to lunch, good friends to dinner; ask them to tell you what they like most and least about you.
  • Interview your snippy sister and your bossy brother-in-law and the rest of your “tribe”.
  • Have your handwriting analyzed.
  • Get your astrological chart done, your palm read, and your tea leaves analyzed.  Even if you have to spend $10 to do it.  You’re worth it.
  • Take some personality and interest assessments like Myers-Briggs, MAPP, check out your enneagram.
  • Trawl for LinkedIn recommendations.
  • Ask your Twitter followers, “Pourquoi moi?”.
  • Re-read your old job recommendations and performance evaluations.
  • Scrounge up your old resumes.
  • Pull out your old yearbooks and note the entries.
  • Review your camp ribbons.  Were you # 1 or “Most Improved”?  There is a difference, you know.
  • Gather your match.com profiles (the one you wrote and the one your friend re-wrote when you were batting zero).

Now this may not all be sweetness and light.  But you know this, don’t you?  You may have to, sort of, alternate.  Gather feedback from your ex, then your dog, a gossipy co-worker, then your mom.

Got it? The big question is:  who the heck are you?  Find out.  From everyone you can convince or afford to pay to do so.  You’re not just doing personal research for any ‘ole reason.  You’re “re-inventing”, not inventing.

Do it now.  After all, you’ve just got a year.

P.S.  I’m not asking you to do anything I haven’t done.  My year was 1975.  Of course, I ended up getting divorced by the end of it, but things will work out better for you, I’m sure.

Don’t forget to do the poll (below) before it changes.  And please leave a comment.  I have nightmares about talking to myself.

We’re starting slowly to give you time to gather this info, but we are going to be speeding up over the next couple of weeks.  Be sure to click the link to the right to enter your email address so you’ll be notified of new postings.  It won’t be the same without you!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses to “#3: It’s Your Year”

  1. Hi Kat,
    We are members of Collaborative Women on LinkedIn and I just had to come over and check out your blog. Wow! It appears I have a lot of catching up and reading to do to see if I can tackle your challenge of re-inventing myself!

    What a challenge that will be but at the same time, sounds fun and very enlightening. I’m hoping it will pull me out of this place or rut of where I am right now. Not being very happy when typically I’m the most happiest person around, suffering financially due to two lay-off within the last year, unemployment ran out, house falling in on us, my business not doing as well as I had planned, just very slow, and I could go on and on….well, you get the picture, not in a very good place in my life right now and I should be in a much, much better place!

    It can be so depressing but I try not to let that sink in. I’m a very positive person who loves life, just not so much here lately….ugh.

    Anyway, I’m going to try and jump in here and see what I can do to change all this. I have been working SO hard to turn all this around, but I guess it is not happening fast enough for me….LOL.

    Thanks for all your help and I’ll try to keep you posted on my progress. Make it a beautiful day!

    Deb 🙂

  2. Deb, the hardest part is getting started because it requires a leap of faith. What if you actually envision a great future for yourself and it doesn’t happen? Wouldn’t that be a bummer?!

    But I promise it works. Just grind through it. I just updated mine yesterday as you can see from my post and I can tell I’m seeing life differently today. I’m more focused, more excited about the future. You will be too. It will also help you in your job search because you will be more articulate about who you are and what you bring to the table.

    BTW, can I help with the job search? I charge $100, but for that amount I basically take you to raise! I do everything from resume to cover letter to strategy to interview prep for that one fee. I worked with executives for years and have been known to work miracles. This is my way of helping out those who are out of work.

    Kat
    kat@katquest.com



